Small Adventures

I came across this design in Pinterest the other day.

It got me thinking. So today I went in search of my favourite climbing tree (if you don’t count the Beech tree in Granny and Grandad’s garden – a crucial part in all summer obstacle courses.)

There are woods behind the house in Edinburgh which were once my home for the summer – full of hidden turns, paths, tunnels, bike jumps, fallen bridges and rope swings. Here is my climbing tree. This place reminds me of endless games, sunsets, grazed knees and the feeling of knowing exactly where you are.
The lower climb is full of large knots (easier on the way up) but the top there is a form of bracket where 5 arms sprout from a single source. It’s the perfect little seat.
Here I have debated fall-outs, university choices and breakups in the days of red converse. Today I was simply drawing.

Leave a Reply

